CheckInAge
Menu

OFFICIAL PROPERTY EVIDENCE

Debit cards and hotel deposits in New York City

2 confirmed debit-card matches in our 88-hotel New York City sample. These are reviewed property records, not a complete city list or a booking guarantee.

Updated

New York City hotel check-in age guide

Confirmed debit-card matches

Sponsored · We may earn a commission.

Pod Times Square400 W 42nd Street, New York, NY
Recorded policy$50 per stay holdDebit for arrival hold: AcceptedA credit or debit card is needed on arrival. Cash can settle the bill at departure, with the card amount credited back; bank timing is not stated.The arrival authorization also includes the full stay. Cash can be used at checkout, with the stay amount credited back to the card.
Statusconfirmed
Last reviewedSep 18, 2026
Add dates
Arlo Midtown351 W 38th Street, New York, NY 10018-2914
Recorded policy$100 per stay holdDebit for arrival hold: AcceptedPresent a credit or debit card for the incidental hold, unless a credit-card authorization form was submitted in advance. It need not be the card originally used to pay for the stay. Gift cards and reloadable debit cards are not accepted for this hold. For debit cards, immediately available funds must cover unpaid room charges, taxes, fees and the incidental hold. Arlo recommends using a credit card. Additional charges can trigger a new hold.Release timing: Unused authorization is released at checkout. The card issuer usually completes the release within 2–4 business days, but it can take up to 30 days.Contactless mobile-wallet and tap payments are not accepted. The arrival authorization also includes unpaid room, taxes and urban fees; remaining authorization overage is released after checkout.
Statusconfirmed
Last reviewedSep 9, 2026

About this comparison

This collection covers Manhattan and Downtown Brooklyn. Brooklyn is part of New York City; hotels in nearby New Jersey are not included. This is a researched sample, not a complete NYC hotel inventory.

Only current, supported answers matching this page’s question count as a match. Missing, unclear and expired values do not count. Fees retain their stated basis; a per-stay charge is not compared as a nightly price.

Our debit-card coverage here is limited. The confirmed matches below are a small sample. More hotels may accept debit, but we do not yet have supporting evidence for them.

Policy status, then fee within the same basis · Sort by hotel name

Confirm the card and the hold before booking

Paying for a room with a debit card does not by itself confirm that the hotel accepts it for the security hold at check-in.

Read the debit-card and deposit guide · Compare confirmed debit-card hotels across destinations

Other recorded payment rules

These hotels have card or deposit evidence, but are not confirmed debit-card matches. Read the stated requirement and ask the property about your card.

Sponsored · We may earn a commission.

Hyatt Grand Central New York109 East 42nd Street at Grand Central Terminal, New York, NY 10017
Recorded policyThe hotel authorizes USD 145 per night for incidentals and the destination fee together. This is not a separate USD 145 refundable deposit in addition to that fee. The policy does not state bank-release timing.Debit for arrival hold: Not confirmedA valid credit card must be presented at check-in. The policy also says cash may be used to cover the authorized incidentals and destination-fee expenses; it does not confirm debit, virtual or third-party-card acceptance, or that cash removes the credit-card presentation requirement.
Statusconfirmed
Last reviewedSep 28, 2026
Pod Brooklyn247 Metropolitan Ave, Brooklyn, NY
Recorded policy$30 per stay holdDebit for arrival hold: Not confirmedMajor credit cards accepted; a valid credit card matching the guest's ID must be presented at check-in. The FAQ's cash timing instructions are ambiguous, so confirm cash arrangements directly before booking. Debit, virtual-card and third-party-card acceptance are unconfirmed.Release timing: The hotel says the security deposit is released at checkout; issuer availability timing is not specified.
Statusconfirmed
Last reviewedSep 23, 2026
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area170 Broadway, New York, New York, USA, 10007
Recorded policy$50 per night holdDebit for arrival hold: Not confirmedListed payment methods: Credit Cards. This does not establish which card or cash is accepted for the arrival hold.Release timing: Unused funds are released 5–14 business days after checkout.The incidental card hold is additional to room charges and covers added services or fees.
Statusconfirmed
Last reviewedOct 4, 2026
The New Yorker Hotel481 8th Avenue, New York, NY 10001
Recorded policyCredit-card hold of $50 per night; the hotel releases the full unused amount on departure. Credit-card bank release may take 3–7 domestic or 10–20 international business days; debit may take longer.Debit for arrival hold: Not confirmedCashless property; a credit card is required for the security/incidentals hold. The FAQ mentions longer debit-card release timing but does not confirm that debit alone satisfies check-in.
Statusconfirmed
Last reviewedSep 23, 2026

Policies in New York City

Questions about this list

How many reviewed hotels match?

2 of 88 hotel records in this destination currently qualify. An excluded hotel may have an unknown rule, an expired review or a different policy.

Does a match confirm every check-in requirement?

No. Confirm your age, identification, arrival payment and any additional conditions on the exact hotel page.

Where do the answers come from?

Each hotel page links the official evidence and its review date.

Read our verification method and the related guide.

Every policy has its own review deadline.